Dr. Patrick Warpinski named 2015 Badger of the Year

 2015 Badger of the Year Dr. Patrick Warpinski.The Wisconsin Alumni Association Brown County Chapter is pleased to announce Dr. Patrick Warpinski as its 2015 Badger of the Year. Dr. Warpinski earned both his Bachelor of Science (’85) and Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (’91) from the University of Wisconsin and was honored for his community support and dedication to animal health during a ceremony at the chapter’s annual Founders’ Day dinner held Tuesday, May 12 at the Titletown Brewing Tap Room in Green Bay.

“I am honored and humbled to be named the UW Alumni Brown County Chapter Badger of the Year,” Warpinski said.

Dr. Warpinski is the owner and operator of The Animal House, an award-winning Green Bay animal services business he opened in 2004. Along with providing veterinary care, boarding, grooming and training, The Animal House initiated a local partnership with Paul’s Pantry and Manna For Life to provide proper animal care for individuals in need. Combined with its work with local rescue groups and humane societies, The Animal House provides discounted services to more than 3,000 pets annually.

This focus on caring for animals — regardless of their situation — has not gone unnoticed. The Animal House is a seven-time winner of the Green Bay Press-Gazette’s Best of the Bay contest and Dr. Warpinski was named the Green Bay Chamber of Commerce’s Business Person of the year in 2012. Additionally, The Animal House earned the American Foundation of Counseling Services 2012 Ethics in Business Award.

Dr. Warpinski furthered his charitable work in 2013 by participating in the American Red Cross of Northeast Wisconsin’s 5th annual Dancing with Our Stars fundraiser. He raised nearly $35,000 and earned a People’s Choice award for his quickstep to “Rolling in the Deep.”

Most recently, Dr. Warpinski – who recently was named president of the Bay Area Humane Society – traveled to China earlier this year to participate in the pilot Nobivac Global Health Veterinay Exchange program. He was one of the 10 vets across the world chosen to participate in the program, which provides veterinarians the chance to visit other clinics around the world to exchange knowledge and experience.

The Badger of the Year program honors UW-Madison graduates across the state of Wisconsin who are making lasting contributions and leaving our communities better than they found them. Award recipients are alumni who live in Wisconsin and are making a difference as business or community leaders, volunteers, educators, philanthropists or advocates of the University.
Past Award Winners: 
2014: Michael E. Blecha
2013: Molly B. Vandervest
2012: Robert G. Busch
2012: Sparkplug Award: Jim Reck
2011: Judith VanderMeulen Crain
2010: Paul Liegeois
2009: Gerald “Cort” Condon
2008: Harry Maier
2008: Sparkplug Award: Steve Pipp
2007: Phil and Betty Hendrickson
2006: Jim Temp
2005: Jim Kress ’52
2004: John Gustavson
2004: Sparkplug Award: Curt Fuszard